May Long Weekend Trip Report: Waldameer & Cedar Point

The month of May is always a very exciting one for enthusiasts; parks are opening, new attractions are opening, and the weather is perfect for extended park trips. Plus, the Canadian and American long weekends help make this an excellent time to make the trek to parks we may not normally visit. For me, this was a very big weekend, because not only would this probably be the climax of my coaster year, but I was making my first, (yes I admit, first,) trip to Cedar Point!

We left early on Friday to make the 6 hour drive around Lake Erie to one of the most popular amusement parks of all time; Cedar Point! But before we got there, we had to make a pit stop.

You can guess where this is going by know right?

IMG_2848

Of course! I simply couldn’t resist stopping at Waldameer!

IMG_2845

First stop; Ravine Flyer II!

IMG_2799

IMG_2807

This completely blows away every wooden coaster I’ve ever ridden, and makes me very excited to get on other coasters by the geniuses at Gravity Group!

IMG_2805

Then, seeing as I’d never been on a spinning coaster, I figured I would give Steel Dragon a try.

IMG_2809 IMG_2826  IMG_2842

It was quite fun, but is more on the family side than the intense thrill side.

IMG_2826

It really is quite a charming little park, and for Toronto locals Centreville pales in comparison as far as little family parks go.

IMG_2828

IMG_2838

Then, back on the road to our final destination.

IMG_2850

If Waldameer was the opening act, this is the main event!

IMG_2853

The park skyline really is quite beautiful, and the opportunity to ride so many amazingly unique coasters all at once, well, you know what I mean.

IMG_2855 IMG_2857 IMG_2867 IMG_2870 IMG_2874

After checking in at Breakers, I met up with a friend from ACE at the back gate and hit the rides!

Magnum was a virtual walk-on, so we just hopped right in line to experience this classic attraction. Me being an airtime lover, this ride was fantastic. Although I found some of the transitions into and out of elements to be a bit abrupt, I really enjoyed the ride’s balance between speed, height, and air.

IMG_2878

Sorry, couldn’t resist!

IMG_2883 IMG_2886

Despite my prejudice, I actually really enjoyed Gemini. The track was fun, not so much intense, but just plain entertaining. The one bit that threw me for a loop was the airtime hill about halfway through the track that doesn’t dip down very much, but then the next one dips down very far, I don’t think anyone new to the ride sees that coming!

IMG_2889

Call me what you want, but I wanted to nab every credit I could on this trip, and that includes one of the park’s kiddie coasters.

IMG_2892

IMG_2896 IMG_2900

Yes, I was swindled into riding Mean Streak. But after all of the work done through the off-season, this ride was much more tolerable than what I expected! I had heard so much hate towards this ride that my experience was enlightening. If I hadn’t ridden Ravine Flyer II earlier that day, this would’ve appeared to be a much better ride. I loosely give it a 6.5/10 for it’s great layout, and better than average ride experience, (and BTW in my opinion it is still light years ahead of what we have at CW.)

IMG_2910 IMG_2911 IMG_2912

Maverick was a 45 minute wait, and although the greeter was doing his best to convince us to join the line, we figured we’d add it to our list of “to-rides” during early entry.

IMG_2913

IMG_2919 IMG_2922

After doing the coasters in the back of the park, things are a bit of a blur. It was the last 2 hours of the night, and my friend and I were racing around the park trying to cram in as many rides as we could with the low crowds. Due to this, not many photos turned out well… (Sorry.) But we hit Mantis, Millennium Force, Raptor, Wicked Twister, and of course Gatekeeper. (Stay tuned for a full review.)

IMG_2966

After a really exhausting 3 hours in the park, in which we managed to do 11 attractions. (An average of one ride every 16 minutes!) We hit the hay at Breakers, to rest up for a very busy Saturday.

UPDATE: Saturday was the day my whole family would be at the park, along with me and my friend and his family from ACE. So we had to cover the majority of the park again in one day, but believe me; Saturday was pretty busy compared to Friday night. But, we utilised our early entry to hit up most of the problem rides; starting with Millennium of Course.

IMG_3115

IMG_3071

After a ride on the second train of the day, (would’ve been first but we wanted front row!) We booked it to the back of the park to make it onto Maverick.

IMG_2980 IMG_2985

That was my first ride on Maverick, and DANG that lives up to the name. Violently twisting between elements, providing quick and forceful transitions. The inversions were incorporated perfectly as to enhance the concept and experience without turning this into an inversion centric coater.

Then, to complete our first lap of the park, we raced around the back to make it to Dragster before the GP got to it.

IMG_2991 IMG_3005

This is one of those things in which you can’t grasp the sheer size of it, Top Thrill Dragster is a towering monster of a ride, and the fact that you are right next to trains as they launch makes this slightly more intimidating, but in a good way!

IMG_2989

No queue; mission accomplished!

IMG_2997 IMG_3009

After waiting WAY too long for the front row, we were actually quite perplexed on what to ride! The GP filled the park while we were in line, leaving the main options as Power Tower, (which for some reason I have no photos of,) and easy rides at the front of the park.

Cue Skyride photos!

IMG_3014 IMG_3017 IMG_3019 IMG_3022 IMG_3024 IMG_3025 IMG_3026 IMG_3158

Now that I actually made it to the front of the park, cue obligatory Gatekeeper photos!

IMG_3031 IMG_3032 IMG_3033 IMG_3036 IMG_3037 IMG_3039 IMG_3041 IMG_3042 IMG_3043

And to not totally leave you hanging, I will be ending this with a contest to celebrate my trip, and this being my 100th post! All you have to do to enter to win an amazing maps prize pack featuring maps from Disney, Universal, SeaWorld, Busch Gardens, CW, and of course Cedar Point and Waldameer, is ENTER IN THE FORM BELOW saying what your favourite thing about Cedar Point is! I can be utterly stupid or undeniably true, just send me an e-mail by Thursday, June 6th to have a chance to win! And who knows? If I have enough entries, I may even give away a magnet or two! So what are you waiting for? E-mail me and win!

TO BE CONTINUED

Leave a comment!

